Welcome to the Video Tutorial for the Deep Freeze Enterprise Console overview.

The goal of this tutorial is to set up the Deep Freeze Enterprise Console and review some of its functions.

It allows IT professionals to easily manage their Deep Freeze installations remotely.

To launch the Enterprise Console, we double-click on the DF6Console icon.

The Enterprise Console can control up to 2000 workstations. For the purpose of our tutorial, we have set up three workstations, which the Enterprise Console has just detected. Workstation 1 is Frozen. Workstation 2 is Thawed. And our Seeded PC has established communication with the Enterprise Console, but does not have Deep Freeze installed yet.

The Enterprise Console has a menu, a toolbar, and two panels: Network and Groups on the left, and Workstations on the right.

The Network and Groups panel shows me my entire network, lets me create and manage my user defined groups, displays a history of workstations, allows me to schedule tasks, and provides for remote Console management.

In the workstations panel, I see my workstations. Clicking on View > Details provides me with a detailed overview of my workstations, including their name, workgroup, IP address, port number, status, the time they were configured, their MAC address, and the version of Deep Freeze they have installed.

We can sort on the workstations, or on the work group, or on any of the fields.

Our legend in the lower left indicates how many workstations we have Frozen, Thawed, set up as targets, workstations no longer being detected by the Console,  and the total number of computers that we have.

The Enterprise Console offers many features and benefits that you would expect.

For example, we can highlight Workstation 1; we can restart it or shut it down. If we did shut it down, we could wake it up, if it supported the Wake-on-LAN protocols.

We can Thaw the workstation, and if Thawed, we can Freeze it.

Let’s Thaw Workstation 1 right now. This action is immediate. The hourglass icon beside Workstation 1 gives us an indication that the workstation is now restarting into the Thawed state. Workstation 1 has now come back up Thawed. And let’s focus on Workstation 2.

Workstation 2 is Thawed, so we’ll Freeze it right now. Again, the action is immediate. And the hourglass icon beside Workstation 2 indicates that it’s now restarting back into the Frozen state.

After the restart, we see that Workstation 2 now shows as Frozen in our Console.

Let’s go back to our toolbar and click on the Gear icon. This lets us update our Deep Freeze configuration for the selected workstations. For example, using the Enterprise Console, we can update all our passwords and schedules rapidly by deploying a new configuration file to the selected workstations.

Importantly, the workstations can be in a Frozen or Thawed state when we update their configuration. We can also update our schedules dynamically by clicking on the Configuration Mode icon. Click New and we get our configuration screen, which contains Restart/Shutdown tab, our Maintenance tab, and an Advanced Maintenance tab. After modifying the schedules settings we simply select the workstations, click send, and the schedules are now updated. Details on how to configure the Maintenance Schedules are contained in the Configuration Administrator video tutorial.

Back to our toolbar. We can also install Deep Freeze onto Seeded workstations.

So again, a Seeded workstation has established communication with the Enterprise console but does not have Deep Freeze installed yet. We click on Install and now we can deploy Deep Freeze onto a Seeded computer. After selecting the workstation installation file, we will click Open. We see an hour glass, and at the workstation Deep Freeze is now being installed. Once installed, the computer restarts and it shows in the Console as a Frozen computer.

Let us click on Workstation 1, which is Thawed. We have two uninstall options. One is to remove Deep Freeze but leave the Seed behind in case we want to install Deep Freeze again in the future. We can also remove Deep Freeze and the Seed from a workstation if desired. Note that both uninstall commands require the workstation to be in a Thawed state.

Starting in version 6, updating to a newer version of Deep Freeze has never been easier. Simply select the workstations, Frozen or Thawed, click the update icon, select the new workstation installation file and click Open. The workstations will be updated to the new version keeping the previous settings in place.  

The Log icon brings up the current log file for our review, where we can see the Deep Freeze related events that have taken place in our workstations in the past 48 hours. The log file can be exported to a CSV file by right clicking on it and selecting Export to a file.

The Enterprise Console allows for organizing the workstations into groups. Clicking on the Add User Defined Group icon brings up the Add Group dialog. Let’s assume both Workstation 1 and Workstation 2 are in room 214. To quickly and automatically populate a group based on your workstation naming convention, click on Use Filter. Here we can enter a wildcard, and have station in between the wildcards, and click Add. Now we have our user-defined group, called room 214, already automatically populated with Workstation 1 and Workstation 2.

The History icon displays workstations that were once connected to the Enterprise Console, but that are no longer detected in this session.

The Event Scheduler and Remote Console Management are beyond the scope of our tutorial today. However, setup information can be found in the Content Library at Faronics.com.

We want to thank you for being here for this tutorial. We have now successfully concluded our video tutorial for the Deep Freeze Enterprise Console overview.